About the Town Board

2021 Town Board: Penny Morton, Michael Kahl, Rolf Carlson (chair), John Schifsky, Tim Strom

Five supervisors are elected to 3 yr staggered terms. Election day is the same day as the spring Annual Town Meeting.
Town Board meetings are held each month on the 2nd Thursday at 6:30 pm in the Town Hall.
Meetings are open to the public and Town residents are encouraged to attend.

Correspondence with Town Supervisors can be addressed to them at the Town Hall address or email by clicking on the name below.
Note that messages are answered when the person is next on duty. Our Township offices are only staffed part time.

Rolf Carlson (2020-2023)
(Responsibilities: Board Chair, Personnel, and Cemetery; alternate to Intergovernmental Relations* and North Shore Management Board)

Penny Morton (2021-2024)
(Responsibilities: Vice-Chair, Business Management*, Liaison to Community Center/NSCS Foundation Board, and North Shore Management Board; Alternate to Intergovernmental Relations*, Communications, and Personnel)

Tim Strom (2021-2023)
(Responsibilities: Town Hall and Materials Management*; Alternate for Roads/Invasive Weeds, Intergovernmental Relations*, North Shore Management Board, and Planning & Zoning)

John Schifsky (2019-2022)
(Responsibilities: Arts and Heritage Work Group, Communications*, and Public Safety*; Alternate for Cemetery, Intergovernmental Relations* and North Shore Management Board)

Michael Kahl (2019-2022)
(Responsibilities: Planning & Zoning and Roads/Invasive Weeds; Alternate for Town Hall, Intragovernmental Relations*,  Business Management*, and North Shore Management Board)

Business Management: Insurance, Financials, Banking
Communications: Website, Social Media, IT for Town Hall, Phone Service, Newsletter
Intergovernmental Relations: Liaison to St. Louis County Association of Townships and Duluth Area Townships
Public Safety: Police, Fire, Emergency Operations
Materials Management: Garbage, recycling.